According to a document issued on December 29, 2021, and signed by Sanusi Garba, NERC chairman, and Musiliu Oseni, vice chairman, the new tariff took effect from February 2022 NERC, the independent regulatory body with authority for the regulation of the electric power industry in Nigeria said some of the indices considered for the tariff increase include gas price, inflation, exchange rate, US inflation rate, and available generation capacity.

It added that these indices shall be reviewed every six months to update the tariffs with changes in the indices as applicable in line with the multi-year tariff order (MYTO).

Breakdown of charges

The document said that for A-Non MD customers who paid N56.16/kWh in January 2022 will now (February to December 2022) pay N60.67/kWh), TheCable reports.

Also, B Non-MD customers who paid N56.64/kWh in January 2022 will now pay N59.64/kWh.

Full list of area to be affected by the changes

IKEDC- Parts of Lagos States, Abule Egba, Akowonjo, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Oshodi, Shomolu

IBEDC- Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Kwara and parts of Niger, Ekiti and Kogi states

JEDC- Bauchi, Benue, Gombe, Plateau

KNEDC- Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara

KEDC- Kano, Katsina, Jigawa

PHEDC- Rivers, Bayelsa, Cross River and Akwa-Ibom

By Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Get Instant News, Gist, and Gossip
Welcome to Haelden Entertainment.
Your Number one Online News & Entertainment Platform